Prime Ministers of Canada

The office of prime minister of Canada was established on July 1, 1867 when the modern constitution of Canada took effect. There have been 28 prime ministerial administrations but only 23 individuals (22 men and one woman) have served as prime minister, because four prime ministers served one or more non-consecutive terms.

For information on earlier leaders of Canada before the country had full democratic self-government see the chart of colonial rulers of Canada.

Click on each prime minister below to read a short biography.

See also the chart of former prime ministers for more statistical data.